News and Announcements

Spring 2018

Hyemin Na
 has received the Fulbright Study and Research Award, South Korea and the Korea Foundation Dissertation Research Fellowship

Tim Rainey received the James Weldon Johnson Dissertation Completion Fellowship as well as a completion fellowship from Fellowship for Theological Exploration (FTE)

Fall 2017

Collin Cornell has completed compiling sermons by Rev. Nibs Stroup, well known for his work in the church and racial justice. The book's title is Deeper Waters Sermons for a New Vision

David Messner, 4th year in Ethics and Society, was chosen as a 2017-2018 State of Formation Writing Fellow. State of Formation is a program of the Betty Ann Greenbaum Miller Center for Interreligious Learning & Leadership at Hebrew College and Boston University School of Theology.

Spring 2017

Katie Kime:
Doctoral student examines religious, spiritual aspects of addiction recovery featured in Emory Report on spring graduates.

Deborah Lipstadt's
story on her courtroom battle with a Holocaust denier, chronicled in the feature film “Denial,” will reach a new audience this week as a TED talk posted on May 2, 2017.

Becky Copeland
has accepted a tenure-track position in Theology at Boston University School of Theology, starting 7/1.

Aftab Jassal has accepted a position as Assistant Professor of Hinduism and South Asian Religions, Colgate University

Elana Jefferson-Tatum has accepted the tenure-track Mellon Bridge Assistant Professorship in Religion, Race, and Colonialism at Tufts University.

Cat Pruiett has taken a job as Assistant Professor of Buddhist Philosophy at George Mason University.

Melva Sampson will begin a position this fall at Wake Forest University School of Divinity  as Assistant Professor of Preaching and Practical Theology

Justin Schedtler
has accepted a position as Assistant Professor, Religion Dept. at Wartburg College

Fall 2016

Teresa Fry Brown
was honored by The Black Religious Scholars Group on October 15, 2015. 

Tenzin Bhuchung received both  Fulbright and American Institute of Indian Studies dissertation fellowships to conduct research in India and Nepal 2016-2017 for his project titled  "Maitrīpāda: A Missing Link in the Transmission of Buddhism to Tibet."

Anandi Salinas received a Fulbright dissertation fellowship to conduct research in India 2017-2018 for her project titled "Beyond Seeing: Darshan as an Embodied Multi-Sensory Practice in Contemporary Vaishnavism"

Alex Yiannopoulos received a Fulbright dissertation fellowship to conduct research in India for his project titled "Nondual Cognition in Buddhist Philosophy and Meditation."

Won Chul Shin as been selected for the 2016 SESCOR AAR Graduate Student Paper Award for his paper Sing Broken Hallelujah: A Critical Analysis on Incarcerated Women’s Moral Injury and the Role of Religious Practice of Choiring in the Recovery of Moral Injury.  The award will be presented on Friday, March 4 during the plenary session of the 2016 SECSOR annual meeting in Atlanta. 

Fall 2015

Tony Alonso (PCRL) composes mass for Pope Francis visit to Washington, DC , September 23rd.